SDI currently has 32 country affiliates. As of October 2016, there are 12 “mature” federations within the SDI network. They are: Ghana, India, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Philippines, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The definition of a “mature” federation is any federation that has achieved national or citywide scale and have worked with governments to secure and develop land for the urban poor.

There are currently 12 “emerging” federations. They are Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Lesotho, Liberia, Nepal, Nigeria, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, and Togo. The definition of an “emerging” federation is a group that has started building savings collectives but has not yet federated nor achieved citywide scale and is yet to develop a critical engagement with state institutions and other development actors.

There are currently 8 countries that have solidarity links with SDI and are exploring deeper collaboration. They are Angola, Argentina, Colombia, Egypt, Haiti,  Iran, Mozambique, Pakistan.