The supreme governing body of SDI is the Council of Federations, which includes all “mature” federations in the network. As of October 2016, there are 12 “mature” federations within the SDI network. They are: Ghana, India, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Philippines, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The Council meets once a year and sets the agenda for the SDI Board.

The Secretariat and Management Committee of SDI are responsible for the day-to-day operations of the network, including finance and administration, global advocacy, learning, monitoring and evaluation, youth and media, and capital projects.